“Fight it, Dad! Fight it!”

There are several sites out there where folks share what they did during the past week to prep.  It is always interesting to see what others are doing and how they are going about it.  So, what I did this week:

  •  Went to one of the local dollar stores and picked up more items for my pharmacy/first aid preps.  These include more topical antibiotics creams, sprays, cortisone cream, over the counter GI remedies, decongestants, antihistamines, bandages, and wraps, some boric acid for insect control, and 4 packages of 6 emergency candles, all for under $20.    
  • Caught a buy one-get one free promo at one of the local grocery stores and picked up 12 pounds of rice , 4 boxes of instant grits (name brand),  and 2 boxes saltines.  All under $15.
  • Picked up a huge jar of chicken bouillon mix and 10 packages of a variety of dried beans from the local mega-mart.  Intention is to combine them and store as mixed beans.  Right around $15. 

 So, for around $50, I have a pretty good addition to my current stores.  ( And if I were just beginning to prep, these would be a huge start.)  This is a typical purchase pattern every 1 or 2 weeks.  So as you can imagine, approaching this slow and steady has really paid off. 

 Next week is payday and I have big plans for other items to shore up weak spots.  My concern is that with the feeling of something imminent approaching, I may go a little overboard and get away from my slow and steady strategy.  I guess I will have to take a page from the old Burger King commercial with Sugar Ray and his son and “Fight it, Dad! Fight it”.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

