Be careful what you ask for …..

Remember the old adage, “Be careful what you ask for, you might just get it”.  Well, I asked, I got it, and I am not too sure that I like it. 

There are lots of posts out there about when you are the only one if the family that is prepping and some of the bumps it can create.  The wife is just worried enough about things as I am that she has tolerated my efforts; not encouraged or participated, just tolerated, sort of turning a blind eye.  However, recently, I noticed a subtle change.  When we were out and about, she would ask if we needed any more rice, beans, canned goods, spaghetti, aluminum foil, etc.  At this point, it was one of the things that make you go hmmmm.  Then, we were meeting one of her friends for dinner and since we were early, suggested we go across the street to the local mega-mart and pick up a some ammo.  After that, she bought me a new hunting knife for my birthday, and then the real kicker ….. She wanted to go to the gun show with me.  And while we were there, picked out a nice little pistol for me to buy for her.  I At that point, I began to consider another one of the signs of the apocalypse. 

I figure some of you are questioning why this is such a bad thing.  Where here is where it turns.  As you know, I have been accumulating food stores and other items slowly and steady for a few months.  The wife is between assignments and has some downtime at home and decided it was time for a good fall cleaning before she heads out again.  All well and good, except she decided to start with the kitchen and pantry and the utility room and totally reorganize, meaning she would be smack dab in the middle of my stores and the way I have it organized.  Well to make a long story short, she decided to help me put all my stuff and provisions into better storage containers, and, in order store properly, we would need more shelving and cabinets.  All well and good, except now, things are a little more in the open.  So I have given up operational security for her acquiescence and participation. 

At this point, I am not sure which is worse ….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

