Preps for the week ….

Even thought I’ve been putting in 18 hour days at work for the past week, the time I have just been sitting and monitoring things at night have allowed me to make a few online orders.  This week I ordered and received:

  • Another 55 gallon water barrel.  Will do a separate post on water later this week.  Needless to say, this gets me to one of my intermediate goals.
  • 2 more stainless steel cups with collapsible handles.  I like to put this over the 1 quart metal water bottles or the 1 quart Nalgene bottles.  The intent is to use these to boil water so I don’t blacken and ruin the stainless water bottles.
  • Picked up 2 more 3600 calorie mainstay emergency bars.  These go in the 72-hour kits.
  • Picked up another wool blanket, this one for the wife’s car and get home kit. 
  • Began adding freeze-dried/canned items to the emergency pantry.  Freeze dried strawberries, bananas, canned bacon, and cans of oat groats and wheat berries.  I figure these are the things that I can put at the back of the pantry and forget about rotating for a while. 
  • Picked up a nice little outdoor first aid kit from Wal-Mart.  I had been looking for a small well stocked one and this really fit the bill.  It is an EcoSafety brand, with 123 pieces targeted specifically for the outdoors.  The only problem is the case is a paper bag with reinforced webbing, so I doubt it will be totally water-proof.  But the contents are outstanding. 

All in all, a pretty good week.  Since the crazy hours are over, I have lots of plan for the coming weeks.  However, the NCAA tournament has started, and it could slow me down a little.  You know the adage, all prepping and no play makes for no life.  And if my team makes it to New Orleans, I will be there.  On the positive side, it will give me an opportunity to assess my 72 hour bags and what will really work when I go away from home for a long weekend.  Sounds like the makings of another post.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

