Compromised …..

I wrote this a couple of days ago when I was upset.  After re-reading, I still thought the info has some merit so I decided to go ahead and post it.

I’m pissed!!!!  My operational security has been compromised.  Not so much the fact that others outside the family know of our preparation efforts, but the betrayal came at the hands of my youngest son.  My youngest is one of the generation that feels like he is entitled to everything and that is where we are constantly butting heads.  That, and he is also at the age where he thinks I’m stupid.  If I don’t let him have what he wants, he just calls papaw, and of course he can have it.  Needless to say,  it creates quite a bit of tension between my father and me.  Anyway, I didn’t witness this, as I wasn’t home, but my wife told me about it. 

She walked in from work, and my son was in the family room with his girlfriend, and there were two kids sitting at our kitchen table.  One she didn’t know, and the other is a smarky little punk that reminds me of Eddie Haskell without the respect he showed.  (My son is a jerk, but he is mostly dependent on us, and he knows his car is still in my name .)   He starts off a conversation with my wife about why we have so many canned goods.  (If you read any of my earlier posts, you will remember that I was concerned about that when she wanted to put some of the canned goods out in the open).  Anyway, she explained to him that we have an unemployed son with a baby on the way and we supply them with their groceries.  Not being good enough for this kid, he proceeded to our closet where we have the long term food storage and said, “what’s this?, this used to be a coat closet, are you preparing for the apocalypse?”.  Her reaction was what was he doing going through our closets?  And after a few more choice words, all the kids left. 

Needless to say, I am pissed.  I had always told her that I was concerned about our youngest, because he just brings people home that we don’t know, and they come in late at night when we are in bed.  She pooh pooh-ed the thought and told me I was just being paranoid.  Well guess who looked at me and apologized.  However, this is very little consolation, as the damage is done and I have to respond some way. 

First I am going to put a lock on all the closet doors where I have stuff stored, and me with the only readily accessible key.  I will put an extra key in the sealed emergency instructions for when shtf and I don’t make it home.  Then we are going to put everything out of sight.  We are also going to change the locks, because we don’t trust these kids.  After that, I am going to ban this kid from the house.  It’s going to be a battle, but sometimes you gotta do what you gotta do.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

