What a great week…..

 What a great week.  I wasn’t sure that it was going to turn out great, but it did in the end. 

I bought a book, The 100-Day Pantry by Jan Jackson.  When I first got it, I was immediately disappointed as it seemed just another recipe book.  But after reading through it, my eyes were opened.  If you really look closely, it will provide you with all the ingredients you need to feed at least 4 people one nourishing meal for 100 days.  It also makes the assumption that there is no extra water, so all the recipes will use canned items like chicken broth instead of mixing bullion with water.  I took one day off from work and went through each recipe, putting the major ingredients in a spreadsheet so I could analyze and determine how much of each item I needed.  In the end, after the analysis, I felt a lot better about what I have on hand and how long I could feed my family.  If there is anything that is a major gap, it is the canned beef that is I need.  Canned chicken, tuna, ham, etc. are easy enough to come by at a reasonable price, but the beef is a different story.  Canned roast beef is $4 a can, and about 50 cans are needed to follow this plan.  That adds up quickly, so if you should probably think about canning your own ground beef.  In addition to that, there are several things I need to acquire, but these will be manageable.   This is probably way below more seasoned preppers, but for those just starting out and those more intermediate, I would recommend this as a resource and a good plan to follow.

I bought a food dehydrator last weekend and thought I would try it out this weekend.  I bought two packages of mixed frozen vegetables.  I was able to put both these packages in a pint jar.  I will use these in soups within the next 6 months.  The wife even got excited and is wanting me to do various fruits for here to take to work.  I was even more encouraged after talking with my mom.  She told me she was on the last package of apples she dried 20 years ago and only stored in plastic bags.  Needless to say, I am very excited at the prospects of dehydrating lots of things while I can still get them cheap and store them away. 

For Father’s Day, one of my kids bought me a book on multiple ways to preserve food.  The cool thing is the wife got into it and we talked about all the things we need to do.  I told her about the need to can ground beef for my 100-day Pantry plan and she readily agreed.  Next stop Wal-Mar for a pressure canner!

So a few things are falling into place.  Now all I need is a little more time to get them done.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

