Surprised by what people buy before a storm ….

I had finished all my storm preps today and thought I would run to the local WallyWorld to pick up some veggies to snack on during the week.  Since Isaac is no longer the direct threat to us now as it appeared a day or so ago, I wasn’t expecting it to be too crowded.  I should have known something was up when this young guy (early 20’s) with a girl and a baby stopped me and asked me if I had heard something about a storm.  So my son and I told him that it looks like it will make landfall sometime Tuesday much further west of us, but we will get some of the effects, mostly rain and some wind, probably Monday night and for much of Tuesday.  He thanked me and they rushed off into the store.   My son asked me how someone could be so unaware when this has been plastered over all the local TV, radio, and newspapers, not to mention the 24/7 hype on the weather channel. 

The usual suspects were mostly gone, water, milk, bread, toilet paper, lanterns, lamp oil, and flashlights.  The big surprise was that all the Vienna sausages, corned beef hash, and salt were cleaned out.   Plenty of chili, chicken, tuna, etc., but no Vienna sausages.    The other thing, although it could have been just a coincidence, was all the tea kettles were gone as well. 

It was nice to be able to sit this one out and not have to be among the masses that were at the stores on Sunday.  I can always use more things such as food for the pantry, or batteries, but, I have enough on hand to see me through, and I can get back to more prepping after the storm passes and everyone calms down.  The thing I must be careful of is to not become overconfident just because I was able to weather this storm with calm.  When you relax, you make mistakes, and there are a lot of worse things out there that I am not really ready to handle.  Still, it was nice to know I didn’t have to worry about it this time. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

